If I Ruled the World!

Welcome to 2017! My first blog post for this year. However, I have been doing this here.

Anyways, I have an interesting post for tonight! This is an essay for my 9 year old niece – “If I Ruled the World”. She has a competition on 31.03.2017 and I am helping her with it. Prior to me writing this, I made her tell me 5 each of her likes and dislikes. This article is a compilation of her thoughts.

She had an essay competition last year around the same time. This is what I wrote back then.

I like today’s topic and the innocence it brings up from a 9 year old’s perspective.

If I ruled the world I would outlaw contests with themes of the likes of “if I ruled the world”. I would let people talk about whatever they feel like. I would accept each and every voice.

I’d sing and dance and see everybody happy. I would not make rules for anybody. No do’s and dont’s. “Live and Let Live” would be my mantra. I would like to see the world filled with love, fun, laughter and not to forget food for everybody.

I would actually, come to think of it, resign from my post as ruler of the world. If I ruled the world I would jump off the next bridge because, hey, who wants to rule the world?

I’d rather be Doraemon; to protect myself, my friends and Nobita from being bullied. I’d use Doraemon’s gadgets – from toys to medicines, for the needy. I would use Doraemon’s technical gadgets for our better future.

If I ruled the world, I would refuse to rule the world. I’d be a kind human being to myself, my friends and family, rather than a ruler to the world. I want a world without fear, sadness and wars. I want a simple and happy world.

If I ruled the world I would keel over from exhaustion and that is why I don’t rule the world, that is why I am standing here now hiccuping words and catapulting sounds and sights in front of you all and trying to be poetic, trying to talk, talk and talk. If I ruled the world my speech would win the prize of the “If I ruled the world” contest.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

