How to be happy and make others happy!

As I woke up today morning, there was a message from my sister asking me to write an essay on “How to be happy and make others happy”. Her daughter (my niece) received this email from her school about an essay competition. Today being a Sunday, I had no plans for the day and I liked the idea about writing an article for my blog. Well, I was happy! Maybe once I am done with this writing, I would definitely make my sister and my niece happy!

I am now sitting and wondering how an 8-year old can be happy and make others happy. I like this topic because I am one of those people who constantly tries to be happy by valuing the tiny things which would matter in my life rather than the materialistic side of the things. I have lot of memories of my 8th year and I doubt if I ever wondered how to make others happy. Off course, I was a happy kid back then. And I think, my deeds made my parents and my sister happy. I still remember the day, I was 7 and I stood first in my class and it made my mother so happy that evening. I was happy too. I was 8, and I won an elocution competition for the first time. Both my mother and my sister were happy. I was happy too. So, that’s about it. I was happy and my family was happy too. Not to mention, I am happy even now and my family is happy too!

The next few paragraphs (approximate 400 words, is the essay requirement) will talk about an 8 year old’s perspective of being happy and making others happy.

‘What do I want from my life?’ I think it’s too early for me to decide on this. But off-course, I know for sure, I want to be happy. I do have many reasons to be happy.

  • My parents love me
  • My dad has a nice job
  • My mom is pretty
  • I get good food to eat
  • I have nice clothes to wear
  • I stay in a big house
  • I have friends to play with

This is my sweet world and it is perfect. I don’t see why I should be scared of not being happy at all. But, I do see that the grown ups aren’t entirely happy after all. I am too young to comprehend the grown up’s world, but maybe I have a few lessons for them to be happy and make others happy. I hope to be following these lessons as I grow up too.

  1. Be self satisfied: I have read this somewhere, that man is greedy. He always wants more and he is never satisfied. Instead, focus on the things what you have rather than going behind the ones which you don’t have. Life will be lot easier and happier. For example, I need to consider those kids who are poor rather than complaining to my parents about not gifting me what I saw in the mall yesterday.
  2. Sleep more: I am always full of energy after a good night’s sleep. The grown ups often miss this important aspect and mess the happiness in their life.
  3. Spend more time with family and friends: Money cannot buy all the happiness. Yes, I need my dad to work in the office and earn money but I wouldn’t want him to be only doing his office work. I want him to spend time with me and my mom and take us out on vacation.
  4. Help others: Think of those who are less privileged than you. Do not be stingy. Be thankful with what is give to you and get on the spirit of helping the needy and the less fortunate. I always insist my mom to give away my books, clothes, accessories to our maid’s daughter who is of my age. The joy of seeing my friend happy is inexplicable.
  5. Practice smiling: Smiling can make us feel better, but it’s more effective when we back it up with positive thoughts.
  6. Practice gratitude: This tiny gesture of appreciation is the most effective to make others happy. I start my day by thanking God for giving me a chance to live in this world, yet another day. I thank my mom and dad for looking after me, my teachers for teaching me, my friends for playing with me. This is a very simple strategy but it will surely make a huge difference in anybody.

As I end my happy lessons, I would like to conclude it with the following note: ‘Happiness is like a butterfly: the more you chase it, the more it will elude you, but if you turn your attention to other things, it will come and sit softly on your shoulder’!

Well, I am done with my task of writing an essay. Did I make you happy? 🙂 Happy Sunday!

 

Leave a Reply

