Ambigram

I was just done posting an intro to #LearningItMyWay and I was checking yourstory.com. The following headline caught my eyes.

“This two-year-old Jaipur-based startup is a preferred gifting destination for the Bachchans and Anna Hazare” (from yourstory). The start-up’s name was “Indibni” (quite a rare name, and I like it already). “Indibni is actually a very interesting word. It is an ambigram (mirror image) of the word ‘indi’” (from yourstory).

And that’s when I decided to remind myself the meaning of the word Ambigram, which means Mirror Image.

“An ambigram is a word, art form or other symbolic representation, whose elements retain meaning when viewed or interpreted from a different direction, perspective, or orientation. The meaning of the ambigram may either change, or remain the same, when viewed or interpreted from different perspectives.” (from Wikipedia)

I have noticed often that I do come across numerous words, but it’s hard for me to recall their meanings later. I hope blogging helps me overcome this problem of mine. Let me experiment on this, and I shall document my results on a weekly basis :).

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

